Wapak runners make long trek to Sandusky

From staff reports

Wapakoneta made a long trek to Sandusky on Saturday to compete in the Panther Fun to Run, a 3200-yard event as opposed to a typical five-kilometer race, hosted by St. Mary Central Catholic at Mills Creek Golf Course.

The Redskins placed fourth of four teams in the Division I race.

Out of 89 runners, Sidney Sutton paced the Redskins with a 14th-place finish overall with a time of 13 minutes, 31.73 seconds.

Morgan Miller had Wapak’s second time at 15:35.01. Summer Griner (42nd; 15:38.56) and Megan Watt (43rd; 15:41.31) finished back to back as Wapak’s third and fourth runners.

Nicole King completed the Redskins’ scoring with her 47th place-finish at 15:48.85.

In Wapak’s top seven were Sydni Turner (63rd; 16:56.58) and Jenna Stoner (64th; 17:01.52). Also in Saturday’s race for Wapak were Emma Walker (72nd; 17:25.47), Courtney Mosgrove (73rd; 17:26.25) and LeeAnn Jose (89th; 21:45.59).

Allie Zofkie, the Redskins’ top runner through two races this season, did not race Saturday, as she was competing on Wapak’s tennis team in the Lima City Invitational.

Springboro’s top five runners took the first five spots in Saturday’s race to score the minimum 15 points possible.

Massillon Perry had the next five spots to finish second.

Team Standings

1. Springboro 15; 2. Massillon Perry 40; 3. Hilliard Darby 75; 4. Wapakoneta 112.


Plaugher 26th out of 243

The Wapak boys team was sixth out of six Division I schools, totaling 162 points.

At 26th overall, out of 243 runners, Dylan Plaugher was Wapak’s first finisher with a time of 11:11.63.

Will Zofkie was second for the Redskins and 43th overall at 11:26.86.

Wapak’s other top five times included in the scoring were Jordan Bowers’ 11:36.13 (49th), Alec Benny’s 11:45.22 (63rd) and Zac Neumeier’s 11:45.64 (64th).

Rounding out Wapak’s top seven were Hayden Brandehoff (74th; 11:55.88) and Jalen Bowersock (89th; 12:13.82).

Placing in the top half of the field were Dan Reichenbach (90th; 12:14.67) and Alex Gornall (106th; 12:25.55) Also competing for the Redskins were Sam Bowers (142nd; 12:59.00), George Jose (167th; 13:21.76), Jacob Brown (176th; 13:29.76), Bill Butler (182nd; 13:33.22), Travis Fisher (187th; 13:39.83), Wesley Grumblis (188th; 13:40.02), Charles Sutton (193rd; 13:44.91), Hayden Metzger (195th; 13:51.37), Caleb Mason (196th; 13:52.59); Cal Miller (218th; 14:45.15), Cole Zwiebel (221st; 14:51.94), Cameron Guffey (237th; 16:26.62) and Christian Lugo (241st; 16:37.37).

St. Ignatius won the Division I boys race with 30 points, taking three of the first four spots.

Team Standings

1. St. Ignatius 30; 2. Springboro 68; 3. Walsh Jesuit 76; 4. Hilliard Darby; 5. Massillon Perry; 6. Wapakoneta 162.


Follow high school cross country coverage from the Wapakoneta Daily News on Twitter using the hashtag #wdnXC