W-G gets 7 players on All-NWCC teams

From staff reports

Seven members of the Waynesfield-Goshen Tigers football team appeared on the All-Northwest Central Conference teams, which were released Monday by the NWCC for the 2013 season.

The Tigers had three starters on defense each earn second-team honors, including sophomore Drew Lament (defensive line), junior Lucas Gray (linebacker) and junior Daniel Fridley (defensive back).

W-G junior Lake Turner was the conference’s second team punter.

The three Tigers named honorable mention in the NWCC were juniors Brandon Turner, Brandon Bly and Dylan Hopkins.

W-G finished the 2013 season with a 2-8 overall record and 2-5 in the NWCC.

Fort Loramie’s Delaunte Thompson was the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year, while Lehman Catholic’s Skylar Brown earned Defensive Player of the Year.

The Lehman Catholic Cavaliers won the NWCC in 2013 with a 7-0 conference record.

Lehman Catholic’s Dick Roll was named the conference’s Coach of the Year for this season.

All-Northwest Central Conference football

First Team
Quarterback: Nick Rourke, Lehman Catholic
Center: Joe Skelton, Lehman Catholic
Guards: Brad Montgomery, Lehman Catholic; David Ahrns, Fort Loramie
Tackles: Quinn Monnin, Lehman Catholic; Zach Brandewie, Fort Loramie
Wide Receivers: Drew Westerheide, Lehman Catholic; Craig Fullenkamp, Fort Loramie
Tight End: Emanuel Luster, Perry
Running Backs: Greg Spearman, Lehman Catholic; Delaunte Thornton, Fort Loramie; Conner Cotterman, Riverside
Defensive Linemen: John Husa, Lehman Catholic; Josh Smith, Lehman Catholic; Garrett Eilerman, Fort Loramie; Logan McGee, Fort Loramie
Linebackers: Skylar Brown, Lehman Catholic; Zach Brandewie, Fort Loramie; Troy Benanzer, Fort Loramie
Defensive Backs: J’Ton Washington, Perry; Greg Spearman, Lehman Catholic; Drew Westerheide, Lehman Catholic; Craig Fullenkamp, Fort Loramie
Punter: Logan McGee, Fort Loramie
Kicker: Ian Smith, Lehman Catholic
Offensive Player of the Year: Delaunte Thompson, Fort Loramie
Defensive Player of the Year: Skylar Brown, Lehman Catholic
Coach of the Year: Dick Roll, Lehman Catholic

Second Team
Quarterback: Andy Grewe, Fort Loramie
Center: Luke Gigandet, Fort Loramie
Guards: Ben Montgomery, Lehman Catholic; Joe Rivera, Riverside
Tackles: Andy Meyer, Fort Loramie; Seth Evans, Upper Scioto Valley
Wide Receivers: Alan Ogle, Perry; Ryan Davidson, Riverside
Tight End: George Bauer, Upper Scioto Valley
Running Backs: Caiden Dicke, Perry; Cole Crawford, Upper Scioto Valely; Tanner Lane, Riverside
Defensive Linemen: Chris Staup, Perry; Drew Lament, Waynesfield-Goshen; Eddie Lightner, Ridgemont; Seth Evans, Upper Scioto Valley
Linebackers: Lucas Gray, Waynesfield-Goshen; Kristopher Lee, Lehman Catholic; Aaron Shepherd, Ridgemont; Zach Risner, Upper Scioto Valley
Defensive Backs: R.J. Ring, Perry; Daniel Fridley, Waynesfield-Goshen; Cole Cordonnier, Fort Loramie; Nick Simon, Upper Scioto Valley
Punter: Lake Turner, Waynesfield-Goshen
Kicker: Tristan Stripling, Fort Loramie

Honorable Mention
Fort Loramie: Logan Brackman, Brad Pleiman, Nathan Pleiman.
Lehman Catholic: Lane Monnin, Mitch Slater, Max Schutt.
Perry: Austen Rush, Plummie Gardner, Brandon Neal.
Riverside: Levi Stapleton, Jon Norris, Bill Walter.
Ridgemont: Zane Connolly, Levi Allen, Chris Weyent.
Upper Scioto Valley: Austin Sloan, Conner Shirk, Cody Dyer.
Waynesfield-Goshen: Brandon Turner, Brandon Bly, Dylan Hopkins.