Changes made to cross country postseason

Staff Writer

From staff reports

The high school cross country postseason in Ohio has been changed significantly after the proposals made by a subcommittee were approved by the Ohio High School Athletic Association Board of Directors.
The changes will take effect for the upcoming 2016 fall season.
The board reversed its 2012 ruling that stipulated schools' boys and girls enrollments be combined in order to determine the tournament divisions so that schools' boys and girls teams would be in the same tournament division. The OHSAA said the ruling achieved its goal of reducing schools' travel costs but it created competitive disadvantages for some schools competing in a division higher than where they would have competed without combined enrollment.
A second change related to the representation process used to determine how teams and individuals advance in each level of the postseason.
Previously, the four regional sites hosted the same number of teams in each division so that each regional site would advance the same number of teams and individuals to the state meet.
The board approved a new format that funnels schools within the six statewide athletic districts into specified regionals and basing the number of regional qualifiers from each district site on the number of schools there, ensuring that head coaches who oversee both the boys and girls teams will appear at the same regional site.
Locally, this means Wapakoneta and Waynesfield-Goshen who are in the Northwest District will compete at the Tiffin regional, while Botkins of the Southwest District will compete at the Troy regional.
Another change increases the number of teams qualifying for the state tournament for each regional site from 16 to 20 per division.